Weekend Quilting

Weekend Quilting: Quilt and Unwind with Simple Designs to Sew in No Time  is the wonderful new quilting book by talented West Australian quilter, Jemima Flendt from Tied with a Ribbon.  I have been following Jemima’s quilting adventures for many years, and am so excited to be part of the Book Tour for her first book. This lovely volume includes 16 clever projects to make pillows, mini quilts, table runners and more. The book is highly instructional, with each chapter covering a different technique. You can then put your skills into practice by making the projects that use that particular skillset.

Weekend Quilting

Photo Credit: Weekend Quilting (Fons and Porter)

Whether it be English Paper Piecing, Pinwheels, Nine Patches, Foundation Paper Piecing, – Weekend Quilting will have your mastering a range of quilting techniques in next to no time! As someone who juggles work and family life,  I don’t get much time to sew these days so I particularly enjoy projects that can be easily constructed in a weekend. Weekend Quilting will inspire you to get creative and many of the projects would make wonderful gifts.

Avenues Mini Quilt from Weekend Quilting

As part of the Book Showcase, I made one of the projects in the book, the Avenues Mini Quilt. The instructions were easy to follow, with lots of helpful diagrams and  tips and tricks to achieve professional results. The book included templates for the foundation paper piecing. I made my project using Charleston and Les Petites fabric by Amy Sinibaldi for Art Gallery Fabrics.

Avenues Mini Quilt from Weekend Quilting

I resized the mini quilt so that it would fit on my pegboard which sits in my sewing room. I love the stripey binding.

Sewing Room Pegboard

I added some printed tape from Daily Like that I found on my recent holiday to Seoul, South Korea. I love the message to “Find the Joy” – perfect words to live by.

Avenues Mini Quilt from Weekend Quilting

The backing fabric is Charleston The Row – perfect for this little mini with the row of houses and trees. Available from Ministry of Fabric.

Avenues Mini Quilt from Weekend Quilting

Fons & Porter are generously giving away a copy of Weekend Quilting to one lucky A Spoonful of Sugar reader.  To enter, simply log into the rafflecopter giveaway box below with your email address or facebook account. Complete as many of the giveaway options as you wish – if you already follow A Spoonful of Sugar or Tied with a Ribbon on instagram etc, just click the button below for an automatic entry. Giveaway is open World Wide until June 10, 2017. The winner will be notified by email and announced here on this post. Good Luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

We hope you will follow along on the Weekend Quilting Blog Tour. Check out the stops below to see what these talented designers are making from Weekend Quilting and see more of the book.

Weekend Quilting

Mon 29th May             Lisa Cox – A Spoonful of Sugar Designs
Tues 30th May            Robyn Shapiro – The Strawberry Thief
Wed 31st May             Melissa LeRay – Oh How Sweet
Thurs 1st June           Emily Dennis – Quilty Love
Fri 2nd June                Samantha Dorn – Aqua Paisley Studios
Mon 5th June              Nadra Ridgeway – Ellis and Higgs
Tues 6th June             Peta Peace – She Quilts Alot
Wed 7th June              Stacy Olson –Stacy Olson Design
Thurs 8th June           Sedef Imer- Down Grapevine Lane
Friday 9th June           Elizabeth Chappell – Quilters Candy Box
Mon 12th June            Suzy Williams – Suzy Quilts
Tues 13th June           Rachel Howard – Family Ever After
Wed 14th June            Amy Sinibaldi – nanaCompany
Thurs 15th June         Jodie Carleton – Ric Rac
Fri 16th June               Ange Hamilton – A Little Patchwork
Mon 19th June            Heather Andrus – Quilt Story
Tues 20th June           Elea Lutz – Elea Lutz Design
Wed 21st June            Lauren Wright – Molly and Mama
Thurs 22nd June        Claire Turpin – Claire Turpin Design
Fri 23rd June              Jennie Pickett – Clover and Violet
Mon 26th June            Fat Quarter Shop
Tues 27th June           Alisha Orlando – Ministry of Fabric
Wed 28th June            Minki Kim – Minki Kim Sewing Illustration
Thurs 29th June         Jemima Flendt – Tied with a Ribbon

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links to Amazon. 

The post {Book Review & Giveaway} Weekend Quilting appeared first on A Spoonful of Sugar.

©





Related Post